I can now see the profiles of other users. Why?
In SyncBack V4.0
and earlier the profiles settings were stored in the users private
registry, with some settings (e.g. file & folder selections) stored
in files in the same folder as SyncBackSE was installed from. This meant
each user had their own profiles, but there would be problems if the
user did not have write access to the folder SyncBackSE was installed
into, or if two or more users had profiles with the same name (because
the settings that were stored in files would have overwritten each
In SyncBack V4.1 and later the registry is no longer used and all settings are stored in files. Those settings files are either stored in the same folder as the SyncBack executable, i.e. where it is installed, or in a user specified folder. When upgrading from an old version the profiles are left in the same folder as it was installed. Profiles stored in the installation folder can be seen and used by all users with write access to the folder SyncBackSE is installed into.
You can choose where to put new and imported profiles via the Preferences -> Options menu (then go to the Expert tab).
To move your profiles so they are no longer global, review this article:
NOTE: fresh installs of recent versions (for example, V6) now store profiles by default in the local user area (for segregation/security: remember that profiles can contain embedded passwords) and profiles are thus user-specific unless that setting is changed: